Posted by: msannie48 | October 14, 2009

Taking advantage of time

< It has been on my mind for a long time that I should start blogging. I waste so much time trying not to be lonely that I thought a blog might serve some useful purpose. You see I am all about not wasting. Not wasting time, effort, money and most of all, our allotted time here on this earth. I am already 60 years old and that means at the least I have already lived two thirds of my life and only have the last third to go. It seems when you get to that home stretch you don’t really know how much time you have left here. That does not  bother me. I have a great confidence that the life after this one will be the best. That is because I believe whole heartedly in the Bible. The Bible assures me that if I give my life to Jesus, live for him and endure to the end I have the promise of everlasting life. I just read a scripture again a couple of days ago that renewed that assurance in my heart for in Galatians 6 verse 7 to 10 we read: Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap. For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting. And let us not be weary in well doing; for in due season we shall reap if we faint not.. Nevertheless I would like very much like to accomplish something worthwhile with my time here. Life is always a journey but the past 10 years have taken me places I never could have dreamed of as a young woman. Delightful? No. Worthwhile? Yes. In 1998, my 54-year-old husband was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. He is the love of my life. He brought so much fun to my serious nature. He lies in a hospital bed now, right beside the queen size bed in our bedroom. He looks out of eyes that seem so lost. He can not tell me what he thinks, if he can even think or what he needs, his brain has died and left him lying by the road, hoping only for a good Samaritan to feed and clothe him. The Lord said as often as ye did it to the least of these, ye have done it unto me. Well going by that, I am feeding, clotheing and comforting the Lord daily. This is a privilege and yet sometimes it seems so much like a cross.

Leave a Reply

Categories

