Posted by: msannie48 | October 15, 2009

Sufficient Unto The Day

     Matthew 6:34 – Take therefore no thought for the morrow:  for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself.  Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.  Another great nugget of wisdom from the Master, but what does it mean?  For years I pondered this and then when life became so tumultuous,  I realized that bad days pass and good days can be as close as the morning – then it came to me. Take one day at a time.  Whew, what a relief.  A bad day could be over when I laid my head on the pillow.  I had no reason to expect the next day to be bad too.  Why had I not learned to live this way a long time ago?  

      Just six weeks ago we had some of those bad days.  In the natural scheme of things it looked like it was time to say Good-bye to my dear one.  With fever and distress in breathing, the doctor and nurse were looking for the end and so I kneeled before the One Who has all of Life in His hands and said – He is yours, let your will be done.  Within days the fever was gone, the glucose levels declined to normal, the insulin dosages became smaller and the broken body showed signs of life again.   The home nurse was here today for a check up.  He was so amazed at the improvement.  Thinking it was some tender and knowing care I had provided he threatened to call in CNN to report the miraculous result that had brought my sweetheart back.  Somehow I can never get across to his scientific mind that our many successes along this way have nothing to do with me, it is who I know, not what I know.  I tried to tell him it was prayer but it only seems to fall on deaf hears. And so Matthew 11:15 tells us He that hath ears to hear let him hear.   So tonight I go with gladness and joy that God has a plan for us and we will follow Him.


Leave a comment

Categories